top of page
  • Writer's pictureGreenThumbDynamics

Don't touch the yellow snow - or water in this case

In Chapter 5 of "Protecting New Jersey's Environment" I was shocked again at how sick my home state is. All of the places this chapter mentioned in NJ I have been - for extended periods of time. My dad even works in Mahwah! Again, I was shocked to hear about first the mobs taking over chemicial companies - who in their right mind allowed that disaster to occur. Then, the fact that they were not disposing of the drums so there were explosives, acids, and corrosives all living together as one very unhappy family just waiting for them to collide - which they did. I am so mad it took an explosion, fire, and leakage into the local towns and rivers in order for them to find the connection to its real owners.


In addition, I am so shocked and scared to hear about the chromium dumped around New Jersey, specifically in Hudson County. They dumped the "mud" waste from the making of the chromium all over, and even sold it and gave it to construction companies. How? How do you give people this toxic material to use when you know how bad it is? It was used for baseball fields and school foundations where children play. Yellow water seeping up from the reaction of groundwater to the toxins in the mud. How can someone be okay with letting others be around this dangerous substance? When he mentioned the movie based on Erin Brockovich my ears perked up because I watched that movie and saw how much those people suffered. Now I found out that very same stuff is all around me. I am done.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kayaking the streets- Chapter 12

Chapter 12 of Protecting New Jersey’s Environment, called Coastal New Jersey and Rising Waters the chapter talks about the dangers and conditions of coastal areas and rising water. In particular one q

Water world to be...

In Thomas Belton's "Protecting New Jersey's Environment", Belton focuses a lot about water, in estuaries, the Barnegat Bay, and climate change which is having a huge effect on water levels. First, he

What's Up?

Last week during class we had the opportunity to hear and share a quote or topic we read about in our book that struck us, from Chapters 1-6. This discussion allowed us to review the book, and see ot

bottom of page